Obada Abdel Shafy

Obada Abdel Shafy was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2001. As a fellow, Obada Abdel Shafy contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Mathematical Sciences

Prof. Obada was an Egyptian professor of Mathematics. He played a large role in the founding of the Egyptian Mathematical Society in 1992. He was elected as the first President of the Egyptian Mathematical Society and has continued in that role. He started his studies in 1964 and awarded the Ph.D degree in Mathematics in 1967. In 1994 he was awarded the D.Sc. degree from the same university: Manchester University,England,UK. Prof. Obada graduated in 1962 was a B.Sc. having been awarded Honours in Mathematics. For the next two years he worked at Assiut University as a Demonstrator in the Faculty of Science before being awarded a scholarship to study for a Ph.D. in England. For his doctoral research, Obada attended the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST) beginning his studies in 1964. Among the many awards and prizes given to Obada, we mention his election as a fellow of the Egyptian Academy of Sciences (1995), as a fellow of the British Institute of Physics (2000), as a fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (2001), and as an elected member of the Academy of Arabic Language (2013). He was Vice-President of the African Academy of Sciences from 2004 to 2013. He received the Egyptian State Prize for Scientific Creativity in Basic Sciences (2004), the State Recognition Prize in Basic Sciences (2005), the Elsevier prize for scientific publications and citations (2008), the Misr El-Kheir Prize for highly cited papers (2011), the Nile Award in Science from the Academy of Scientific Research & Technology (2012), the State Sciences and Arts Medal of the First Order (2014) and the African Union's Kwame Nkrumah Laureate of Basic Science, Technology and Innovation Award (2019).