Dr. Nagwa El-Badri

Dr. Nagwa El-Badri was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2022. As a fellow, Dr. Nagwa El-Badri contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected

Dr. Nagwa El-Badri is the Founding Chair of the internationally accredited Biomedical Sciences Program, and the Founding Director of the Center of Excellence for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine at Zewail City of Science and Technology.  Dr. Nagwa received her medical degree with honors from Cairo University College of Medicine and her Ph.D. degree with distinction from the College of Medicine, University of South Florida (USF), USA. Her postdoctoral training as a Fellow of the American Heart Association was in the field of stem cell biology. She was awarded an Initial Investigatorship Award from the American Heart Association and received research support from the Science and Technology Development Fund (STDF), the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, the American Heart Association, the National Institutes of Health, and several other foundations. She contributed more than 100 publications and books in the field of stem cell biology and regenerative medicine.  
Dr. Nagwa was the founder and Director of the Undergraduate and Graduate Program of Women’s Health at USF, the graduate program in Aging and Neuroscience, and the Medicine and Gender Scholarly Concentration at the College of Medicine, USF. She received numerous awards for her efforts in research and in promoting women in science. She is recipient of the Women Appreciation Award from the Egyptian Academy of Scientific Research and Technology for 2020. She was selected for AAMC Mid-Career Women Faculty Professional Development, USA, and was awarded Exemplary Leader in Management Position for Global Women in Stem, Meera Kaul Foundation. She is an elected Fellow of the American College of Nutrition, and served on several national and international committees including the Arab League Education and Cultural Organization Research Committee, the Higher Education Reform Experts Committee, and the Council for Education and Scientific Research Policies at the Academy of Scientific Research, and the National Council for Women.