Mutabingwa Theonest K.

Mutabingwa Theonest K. was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2013. As a fellow, Mutabingwa Theonest K. contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Medical & Health Sciences

Professor, Founder and past President Tanzania Non-communicable Diseases Alliance, Hubert Kairuki Memorial University & Tanzania Non-Communicable Diseases Alliance. Mutabingwa, is Also a Professor at Hubert Kairuki Memorial University (HKMU), Apart from being a fellow at the African Academy of sciences, he is also a fellow of Academies of Sciences for Tanzania and the World.  He Was an International Associate member at Seattle Biomedical Research Institute (2005- 2009), Senior Clinical Lecturer at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (2001-2005), Principal Research Scientist at Tanzania National Institute for Medical Research (1982 – 2001), Tutor at Mbeya Medical Assistant Training Centre (1979-1980) and Kisarawe District Medical Officer (1980-1981). Holds Doctor of Medicine, University of Dar-es-Salaam (1974-1979), Master of Science, University of London (1984-1985) and Doctor of Philosophy, University of Amsterdam (1990-1993). His research addresses drug trials in children and pregnancy seeking safe and effective medicaments, also epidemiology and control of infectious diseases. Received ten international research grants and published 104 scientific papers in peer reviewed Journals. Founded and chaired the East Africa Network for Monitoring Antimalarial Treatment (1996- 2006) that generated the evidence base for effective treatment policies in the sub-region. Prof. Mutabingwa is a certified WHO clinical monitor since 1996. Until recently, was member of three WHO Technical Expert Groups, Executive Boards for Malaria Clinical Trials Alliance, Malaria in Pregnancy Consortium and the World Antimalarial Resistance Network. He established the Master of Science in Public Health degree at HKMU.