Khalil Shabaan

Khalil Shabaan was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2009. As a fellow, Khalil Shabaan contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Physical Sciences
Dr. Shaaban Khalil is a renowned High Energy Physicist in the Middle East, known for his outstanding contributions to understanding new physics beyond the standard model of particle physics. He is the founding Director of the Center for Fundamental Physics at Zewail City of Science and Technology in Egypt and has held various positions at universities and research institutes. Dr. Shaaban has published over 300 scientific papers in renowned scientific journals and co-authored two books “Supersymmetry Beyond Minimality: From Theory to Experiment.” published in 2017 and “Standard Model Phenomenology, CRC” published in 2022”. He is the founding Editor-in-Chief of Letters in High Energy Physics (LHEP) journal and a reviewer for many international physics Journals. Dr. Shaaban has received several local and international awards for his research, including the State Appreciation Award in the field of basic sciences for the year 2021 in Egypt, the Award for Excellence in Basic Science in 2006, the Misr El-Kheir Award for Most Cited Researchers in 2010, the Egyptian Award for Encouragement in 2000, The Shoman Award for Arab Physicists in 2001, and The International Award of Istanbul University in Science in 2004. Dr Khalil has been appointed to various committees, including: the chair of the African Academy of Sciences Membership Advisory Committee in the field of Physical Sciences and the International Advisory Board of the Indian Journal of Physics., a member of the Research Council for Basic Sciences at the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, a member of the Executive Board of the Egyptian Network of Nuclear Sciences and the chair of "Africa Synchrotron Initiative" Committee. In addition, he is the President of the Arab Physical Society (ArPS).