Iwuoha Emmanuel I.

Iwuoha Emmanuel I. was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2018. As a fellow, Iwuoha Emmanuel I. contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

South Africa
Year elected
Chemical Sciences

Emmanuel Iwuoha (PhD 1986, University of Ibadan; FRSC 1999; HonFRSC 2020) is the South African Research Chair Initiative (SARChI) Chair (Tier 1) for NanoElectrochemistry and Sensor Technology and a Senior (Distinguished) Professor of Chemistry at the University of the Western Cape (UWC). He was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), UK in 1999; and was elected an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (HonFRSC), UK in 2020. Prof Iwuoha was awarded the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa A-Rated Scientist Award in 2019. He is an electrochemist who has more than 29 years of experience in biosensors, electroanalysis and electrocatalysis; and has current interest in electrochemical and photovoltaic energy research. He is an Editorial Advisory Board member of Analytical Chemistry, Bioelectrochemistry and JACS Au and has supervised 77 PhD Chemistry degree graduates (including 39 females). He served as a member of UWC Governing Council and its Executive Committee from 2005 to 2017. Prof Iwuoha founded the UWC Sensor Laboratories (SensorLab) in 2002 as a research centre of excellence for chemistry and electrochemistry in the African continent. He led the establishment of the National Nanoscience Postgraduate Teaching and Training Platform (NNPTTP) that launched the first interuniversity MSc Nanoscience degree programme in Africa in 2012, which is a strategic initiative funded by the South African Government’s Department of Science and Innovation. In 2013, Prof Iwuoha partnered with the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), The Hague, The Netherlands, to create the All African Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Initiative (AANNI) for capacity building and science engagement in nanoscience for African scientists. Previously, he led the team of scientists that produced the 1990 and 1992 Greenhouse Gas Inventories of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and authored its 2001 Initial National Communication on Climate Change to the United Nation Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).