Prof. Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli

Prof. Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2015. As a fellow, Prof. Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Physical Sciences
Prof. Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli received her Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics at the University of Joseph Fourier in Grenoble, France. She joined the Faculty of Sciences, University of Mohammed V, Rabat in 1982. She has served as the head of the Laboratory of Nuclear Physics (LNP). Prof. Cherkaoui’s research interests are the applications of nuclear physics, medical physics, and high energy physics. Her achievements in these fields led to the development of several projects related to nuclear applications. She was part of Morocco's official participants in the international ATLAS collaboration at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, in Geneva in 1996. She is a member of several international collaborations including the A Toroidal Liquid argon Apparatus (ATLAS), the Cubic Kilometre Neutrino Telescope (KM3NET), and Astronomy with Neutrino Telescope and Abyss Environmental Research (ANTARES). With her professional expertise, Prof. Cherkaoui created and implemented several master’s degree programs at the Mohammed V University in Rabat. One of her crucial roles was the building and strengthening of the first Master's program in medical physics in Morocco. She has supervised more than 20 doctoral students and 27 master’s students. Prof. Cherkaoui was Vice-President for Research, Innovation, Cooperation, and Partnership at Mohammed V University from 2013 to 2017. From 2014 to 2018, she was Scientific Expert Evaluator for National Center for Scientific and Technical Research (CNRST).In 2015, she received the L’Oréal-UNESCO award for “Women in Science” as a laureate representing Africa and the Arab States, and she is the first Moroccan to obtain this prize. She was a resident member of the Hassan II Academy of Sciences and Technology in Morocco and was simultaneously elected a Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS). The same year, she became a member of the jury for the L'Oréal-UNESCO regional grants for women and science in the Maghreb. From 2015 to 2019 she was a member of the International Science Council ICSU Regional Committee for Africa, a member of the Board of Trustees of the Moroccan Agency for Safety and Nuclear Security (AMSSNuR), and a member of the Scientific Committee of the Spanish Foundation, "Women for Africa". Some of her most recent awards and accomplishments include the following 1) Honour by the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OCI) for her outstanding achievements to the field of science and technology in the Islamic world; 2) Member of the For Women in Science International Jury in Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science for the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards and Scientific Expert for Royal Society for FLAIR Projects; 3) Fellow of the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS); 4) Member of the board of trustees of the National Centre for Nuclear Energy, Science and Technology (CNESTEN) Morocco); 5) Vice President for Policy Review and Administration on the Board of the Network of African Science Academies (NASAC); 6) Official nominator for the "VinFuture Award 2021"; 7) Member of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP) Nominations and Elections Committee for 2021-2022; 8) Member of the TWAS Subject Review Committee (SRC) and the TWAS Policy Development and Future Actions (PDFA) Committee; 9) Fellow of the European Academy of Science and Art; 10) Member of the Board of Trustees of the National Center for Scientific and Technical Research ( CNRST) in Morocco; 11) 2022 TWAS medal; 12) The winner of the prestigious 2023 WIN Global Excellence Awards; and 13) 2023, elected as a member of the Mediterranean Science Team by the European Women Rectors Association.