Pandor Grace Naledi Mandisa

Pandor Grace Naledi Mandisa was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2018. As a fellow, Pandor Grace Naledi Mandisa contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

South Africa
Year elected
Cultural Sciences, Humanities & Social Sciences

Naledi Pandor was born on 7th of December, in 1953  Durban. She received most of her education in exile and matriculated at Gaborone Secondary School in Botswana. She obtained a BA in History and English at the University of Botswana in 1977 before leaving for overseas where she subsequently graduated with a MA at the University of London. Back in South Africa she was awarded a MA in Linguistics at Stellenbosch University in 1997. Before becoming the Minister of Education in 2004, Naledi Pandor was involved in educational issues in various ways. She taught English in both Botswana and London and then lectured at the University of Botswana before joining the University of Cape Town in 1989 as a senior lecturer. Following South Africa's first democratic election in 1994 Pandor was elected to Parliament, and in 1995, she became a Whip and then Deputy Chief Whip of the ANC. She also convened the Sub-Committee on Higher Education in the Education Portfolio Committee. In 1996, Pandor was appointed as member of the Cape Technikon Council. In August 1998 she became the Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) and in 1999 she was elected Chairperson. Pandor is the current Minister of International Relations and Cooperation. She previously served as the South African Minister of Higher Education, serving as of 28 February 2018 until May 2019, having previously held the post from 2009-2012. She was Minister of Home Affairs from 2012-2014.  Positions: 1994: Member of Parliament, Chairperson Luthando Investments, Director of National Council of Provinces 1995 - 1998: Deputy Chief Whip 2000: Chancellor of Cape Technikon 2004: Minister of Education 2012-2014: Minister of Home Affairs 2014-2018:Minister of Science and Technology  2019:Minister of International Relations and Cooperation