Skip to main content


The African Synchrotron Initiative (ASI) Think Tank


Back to News


Starts Jan 1, 2022, 12:00 PM

Ends Dec 31, 2022, 8:00 PM


Plan for Africa’s first synchrotron light source starts to crystallize

The African Synchrotron Initiative (ASI) Think Tank

( DATES:  Starts Jan 1, 2022, 12:00 PM, Ends Dec 31, 2022, 8:00 PM)

African Synchrotron is an inter-regional/inter-gov project. It is an accelerator that generates X-rays for research, with several applications in different disciplines and for many private companies: medicine, biophysics, drugs, material for industry, genomic, cristallography, art, cosmetics etc. Africa is the only continent without any synchrotron light source facility. At its 32nd ordinary session, 23–24 January 2018 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the African Union Executive Council calls upon member states to support a Pan-African Synchrotron Initiative. Therefore, the realization of a large facility or several middle size ones in Africa , is a priority.

In 2019, the African Academy of Science (AAS) formed a committee for African Synchrotron Initiative (ASI) and has recently launched the project and constituted an executive committee chaired by Prof. Shaaban Khalil from Egypt. This project is of the order of one billion dollar for an inter-regional large facility.  This can be afforded as contributions from African countries and international partners, scientific and economic organizations and foundations.

The challenge for ASI is to prepare the ground for the prospects, the scientific goals and the technical design and discuss with African nations and governments, the importance of the facility (locally and regionally) and its impact on society: science, technology, innovation, entrepreneurship, industry, employment and growth. That is our moto.



  1. Faiçal Azaiez IThemba Labs, South Africa
  2. Mary Bishai Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
  3. Rolf Heuer CERN, Switzerland
  4. Gihan Kamel SESAME, Jordan
  5. Shaaban Khalil (Chair) Zewail City of Science and Technology, Egypt
  6. Malik Maaza IThemba Labs, South Africa
  7. Fairouz Malek CNRS, France
  8. Edward Mitchell ESRF, France
  9. Catherine Ngila AAS ExCom, Kenya
  10. Yannis Papaphilippou CERN, Switzerland
  11. Emmanuel Tsesmelis CERN, Switzerland
  12. Sekazi Mtingwa American Physical Society, USA