Joachim von Braun

Joachim von Braun was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2014. As a fellow, Joachim von Braun contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Agricultural & Nutritional Sciences

Prof Joachim von Braun is considered internationally a leading agricultural and development economist. von Braun initiated research on food security, for which he became particularly recognized, in Egypt, and in various African countries, incl. Ethiopia, and West- and East Africa in the 1980s and 1990s.  As Director General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) he successfully expanded the research agenda and decentralized the Institute, which more than doubled during his tenure 2002‐2009. He organized and chaired the IFPRI conference on “Food and Nutrition Security for all in Africa” in Kampala with about 500 participants. The International research community of agricultural economists (IAAE) elected von Braun as President, and facilitated the tri-annual IAAE conference of about 1,000 Members in Durban, South Africa 2003. von Braun serves on the Expert Working Group on Food Security, and Agriculture of the High Level Panel of European Union and African Union. Recognitions: membership in national and other academies, prizes, awards, etc Honorary Doctoral Degree of University of Stuttgart Hohenheim [2005] Justus von Liebig Prize for World Nutrition [2011] The Bertebos Prize by the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry [Stockholm, 2009] “Lifetime Fellow” of the International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE) [elected 2009]; “Lifetime Fellow” of African Association of Agricultural Economists (AAAE) [elected 2010] Fellow of the American Association for the Advancements of Science (AAAS) [elected 2006] Member of German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) [elected 2011] Member of Pontifical Academy of Science, the Vatican [elected 2012