Gurib-Fakim Ameenah

Gurib-Fakim Ameenah was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2012. As a fellow, Gurib-Fakim Ameenah contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

Year elected
Chemical Sciences

Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, Professor of Chemistry, heads the Centre for Phytotherapy Research. Elected Chairperson to the ICSU – Regional Office for Africa (2011-2014), she served as Dean, Faculty of Science and Pro Vice Chancellor (2004-2010) and Manager at the Mauritius Research Council (1995-1997). With a BSc and PhD (Chemistry) from the Universities of Surrey and Exeter, UK (1983) (1987), she joined the University of Mauritius in 1987 and served as Project leader for the first regional research project ‘Inventory and study of medicinal and aromatic plants of the Indian Ocean’ (1988-1992). She served as the national coordinator for the ‘Indian Ocean University’ (European Union 2000-2002); participated in several consultation meetings on environmental issues and served as the lead coordinating author on the International Assessment of Agricultural Knowledge, Science and Technology for Development (IAASTD) spearheaded by the World Bank (2006-2008). She presently serves as an independent director on the local advisory Committee of Barclays Plc. Founding member of the Pan African Association of African Medicinal Plants, she co-authored the African Herbal Pharmacopoeia and serves as: Reference Group Member to the ISP, Uppsala University, Scientific advisor to the IFS, Sweden, Member of the International Advisory Committee for the Cyclotron project, La Reunion (France) and as the international representative on the Canadian AUCC-CIDA projects. Author and/or co-editor of books, book chapters and scientific papers within the field of biodiversity conservation and sustainable development, she was elected Fellow of: Linnean Society, London (2007), Islamic Academy of Science, Jordan (2009), African Science Institute (2010). She received the l’Oreal-UNESCO Prize for Women in Science and National Economic and Social Council Prize (2007); the CTA/NEPAD/AGRA/RUFORUM, African Union Commission Award for Women in Science (2009). Elevated to the Order of CSK by the Government of Mauritius in 2008, she was admitted ‘Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Academiques’