Coville Neil John

Coville Neil John was elected as an AAS Fellow in 2014. As a fellow, Coville Neil John contributes to the development of the Academy’s strategic direction through participation in AAS activities and governance structures. . This gears the Academys vision of transforming african lives through science.

South Africa
Year elected
Chemical Sciences

Prof Coville’s early training was in organometallic chemistry and from 1968 till about 1988 this was the main focus of his research –to devise synthetic strategies to make organometallic compounds using new and novel catalysts. Since then he has established himself in the areas of catalysis and carbon chemistry. He has also participated and contributed to the scientific establishment: (i) Founder, Chair and member of the Catalysis Society of SA (CATSA), (ii) member and past President of SACI, (iii) involvement with SANi (SA Nanotechnology Initiative); former editor of the SANi newsletter, (iv) group leader in IBSA Energy projects and (v) currently FASC (Federation of African Societies of Chemistry) President (2013-2015). He has served on many NRF and other scientific committees over the course of his career. He is a member and Fellow of numerous Societies. He has generated new concepts and ideas in organometallic chemistry, catalysis and carbon chemistry. Recognitions: Membership in national and other academies, Prizes, Awards, etc 1997 SACI Gold Medal 2000 Mischa-Mrost Award (SACI) 2003 Merck Gold Medal (SACI) 2005 Vice Chancellor‟s award for Research 2005 NSTF award for capacity development 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award, Cat Soc SA 2010 Merck Gold Medal (SACI) 2011 Barker Lecture, Rhodes University 2013 NRF award: Champion of research capacity development at South African higher education institutions.